Part 2: Albums credited to Nicky and or with others.

Information, tracks, covers, and sound samples!
For his solo albums go back to this page
For his sessions with others please go back to the main index
Songs with hyperlink have a sample MP3 audio file!
For the index of all audio files in this website click here

During the Rolling Stones' "Let it Bleed" Sessions at Olympic Sound Studios in London on April 23, 1969, Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder as well as Mick Jagger, Bill Wyman and Charlie Watts were waiting for Keith Richards to get out of bed. In the meantime they started to play improvized jams with the tape running: Nicky leading and the rest following him. This is another example of the benefits of recording on location with the tape running, as later this improvized jam made a very enjoyable release.

To note, during those days Brian was already out of the band and Mick Taylor was not in the band yet.

Almost three years later Glyn Johns and Marshall Chess convinced Mick Jagger and the other musicians to release the jam from that session. So they decided to make a "low cost" release, so:

1.- They did not add any edition to the original tapes and used the master as it was recorded on that one-night session.
2.- Glyn asked Nicky Hopkins to make the cover design, he not just designed the cover, he made the front and back cover art. His wife back then, Linda, supplied the photo of Nicky, the Rolling Stones photos were taken during the "Exile on Main Street" sessions in Nellcote, Villa France by the great Dominique Tarlé and Ry supplied his own photograph.
3.- The advertizing was minimum. This is a one-page ad on Rolling Stone Magazine:

The album was released on January 7, 1972 and due to the cheap production cost, according to Mick Jagger about $2.98 USD, they decided to sell the album at only $3.98.

This was the third album on Rolling Stones Records, first was "Sticky Fingers", then "Brian Jones Presents The Pipes Of Pan At Joujouka" (BTW, the right spelling is Jajouka) and then this one "Jamming With Edward" COC 39100.

According some sources the album is credited to Nicky, according to others to the Rolling Stones; but on the album the credits are given to the five musicians involved in this order: Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder, Mick Jagger, Bill Wyman and Charlie Watts. The credits are not in alphabetical order, so this shows what the music shows: Nicky was the musical leader and the other following him, Ry doing the accompaining solos, Mick doing some numbled bathroom mumblings and Bill and Charlie doing the rhythm section.

The record was released as taped, in the very same order the jam was played:

1. The Boudoir Stomp (Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder and Charlie Watts)
2. It Hurts Me Too (Elmore James and Hudson Whittaker) with Mick doing some lyrics of Dylan's "Pledging My Time".
3. Edward's Thrump Up (Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder and Charlie Watts)
4. Blow With Ry (Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder and Charlie Watts)
5. Interlude A La El Hopo (Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder and Charlie Watts) including "The Loveliest Night Of The Year" (Juventino P. Rosas)
6. Highland Fling (Nicky Hopkins, Ry Cooder and Charlie Watts)

Note: The Loveliest Night Of The Year is credited wrong on the album to Webster and Ross. The original version was by Mexican musician Juventino Rosas "Sobre las Olas" (Over the Waves) written in 1888; later "The Loveliest Night Of The Year"was released with some lyrics written by Paul Francis Webster with music arrangements by Irving Aaronson. Adapted from Juventino P. Rosa's Over the Waves from 1888!!!

Scans from the CD


Similar to "Jamming with Edward" the original release of this album is credited to the musicians involved, not to a band or solo artist. Also similar to the above, in this album Nicky is heading the list of musicians breaking any alphabetical order.

Also Nicky is the ONLY member of this "band" credited as a composer, as most of the tracks are covers of late 50's rockabilly. Nicky wrote two tracks and in my humble opinion they are by far the highlight of this record.

This is the result of some sessions of Nicky Hopkins with Led Zeppelin members Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones, and include musicians as Albert Lee (the origin of the sessions was to promote him), Jim Sullivan, Keith David de Groot, Clem Cattini and Chris Hughes.

As another coincidence this was also recorded at the Olympic Sound Studios in London, but this a year before, in 1968. Wait, another coincidence, Glyn Johns was the Engineer

All the arrangements were done by Nicky Hopkins.
Produced by Alan A. Freeman and Glyn Johns.
Executive Producer Reg Tracey.
Art Direction by Norman Batley.
Illustration by Malcolm Livingstone

Later this recordings were bootleged with different names and even with different credits, in between many of the names of this bootleg we have "No Introduction Necessary", "Voodoo Blues", "Everything I do is Wrong" (this one credited to Jimmy Page and Albert Lee only), "The Masters", "Lovin' Up a Storm" and many more.

Track list (original release as LP)

Side One:

1. Lovin' up a Storm (Khent and Dixon).
2. Everything I Do Is Wrong (Rich).
3. Think It Over (Holly, Patty and Allison).
4. Boll Weevil Rock (Adap-Arr: Cochrane and Capehart).
5. Livin' Lovin' Wreck (Blackwell).
6. One Long Kiss (Temple and Hopkins)

Side Two:

1. Dixie Fried (Perkins and Griffin).
2. Down the Line (Orbison).
3. Fabulous (Land and Sheldon).
4. Breathless (Blackwell).
5. Rave On (West, Petty and Tilghman).
6. Lonely Weekend (Rich)
7. Burn Up (Hopkins)

The CD release has a bonus track "Everyday" apparently from the same sessions


This is a strange album, really a rare “collector’s item” and really hard tpo know about it as it is not listed anywhere, first as it is credited to “The Nick Hopkins Caravan” instead of “The Nicky Hopkins Caravan”, it is also strange as it’s Nicky, our Nicky playing only Hammond Organ, the track list sounds cool but the arrangements are not as creative as Nicky is, probably the result of the producer.

It is not clear for me to say the release date as it does not appear in the LP, neither on the back, nor on the front, nor on the inside, but I guess it’s something like 1967 or 1968 as those were the years that Charly Antolini and Karl-Heinz Käestel recorded together the album “Soul Beat” (1968)

The band is really international; in addition to our British genius we have Charly Antolini (A Swiss drummer), Karl-Heinz Käestel (An Australian guitarist), Mark Wirtz (French Guitarist) and Gus Sonneborn (A German bassist)

About the music as mentioned above the lack of creativity a ’la Nicky is clear, it’s the typical “Hammond Sound” of the 60s with covers of the 50s. It is just for completists of Nicky Hopkins, I have played this album less than 5 times since I bought it on the late 90s

Back to previous page - Back to index - Go to the next part of the website