Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

ROCKS OFF - The Rolling Stones Message Board

Free optional entertainment since (at least) 14 July 1998
Meanwhile… somewhere in the US the Rolling Stones were starting tour rehearsals.. 🎸🎸 © The Rolling Stones

YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
Home Help Search Login Register Broadcast Message to Admin(s)

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How two 22-year-olds snuck into a Rolling Stones show, and Mick Jagger got charged at Rock 'n' Bowl (Read 530 times)
Edith Grove
Agent Provocateur

Disco STILL sucks!

New Orleans
How two 22-year-olds snuck into a Rolling Stones show, and Mick Jagger got charged at Rock 'n' Bowl
Jul 12th, 2019 at 11:40am
Alert Board Moderator about this Post! 
How two 22-year-olds snuck into a Rolling Stones show, and Mick Jagger got charged at Rock 'n' Bowl

BY KEITH SPERA | STAFF WRITER

I owe Mick Jagger $30.

In fall 1989, I was a newly minted college graduate with no job and no money. But I liked going to concerts.

In November of that year, the Rolling Stones brought their “Steel Wheels” tour to what was then still the Louisiana Superdome. I didn’t have a ticket.

But I did have the “Steel Wheels” CD and its “long-box,” the wasteful cardboard packaging in which it came.

The same stylized gray wheels that adorned the cover of the CD decorated the long-box. I assumed — correctly, as it turned out — that the Rolling Stones road crew's backstage passes would feature the same motif.

What if I made a pretend backstage pass from the long-box? Would that get me into the show?

Having spent the past quarter-century going to concerts with legitimate passes, I no longer endorse this way of thinking. But at the time, it made sense.

So I fashioned passes for myself and my buddy Kenny. We hung the faux-passes from our belt loops and headed to the Superdome.

I carried a flashlight; Kenny held a clipboard. Trying not to look like nervous 22-year-olds, we approached a Superdome entrance.